The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

School of Medicine Important Contact Information

Office of the Dean

John H. Krouse, M.D., Ph.D., MBA

Edinburg Medical Education Building

Phone: 956.296.1445

AskUTRGVsom@utrgv.edu

Vice Dean of Academic Affairs

Andrew Dentino, M.D., Vice Dean of Academic Affairs & Professor IM

Harlingen Medical Education Building 2.136.05

Phone: 956-296-1479

andrew.dentino@utrgv.edu

Academic Affairs

Leonel Vela, M.D., MPH, Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Edinburg Medical Education Building 3.144

Phone: 956.296.1413

leonel.vela@utrgv.edu

Educational Affairs

Naomi J. Davis, M.D., MPH, Associate Dean for Educational Affairs

Edinburg Medical Education Building 3.149

Phone: 956.296.1994

naomi.davis@utrgv.edu

Nikita Chavarria, Ph.D., Assistant Dean for Medical Education, Pre-Clerkships

Edinburg Medical Education Building 3.129

Phone: 956-296-1578

nikita.chavarria@utrgv.edu

Lori Acosta Berry, M.D., MPH, Assistant Dean for Medical Education, Clerkships

Edinburg Medical Education Building 3.127

Phone: 956.296.1923

lori.berry@utrgv.edu

Office of Student Affairs

Dean of Students

Stanley Fisch, M.D., Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Edinburg Medical Education Building 1.130

Phone: 956.296.1626

MDStudentaffairs@utrgv.edu

Barry Linger, Ed.D., Assistant Dean for Student Affairs

Edinburg Medical Education Building 1.118C

Phone: 956.296.1301

barry.linger@utrgv.edu

Admissions & Recruitment

Betty L. Monfort, MPH, Senior Assistant Dean for Admissions

Edinburg Medical Education Building 1.133

Phone: 956.296.1600

MDAdmissions@utrgv.edu

Mayra Martinez, Director for Admissions

Edinburg Medical Education Building 1.131

Phone: 956.296.1600

MDAdmissions@utrgv.edu

Student Support and Wellness Services

Cristel Escalona, M.D., Director

Edinburg Medical Education Building 1.118

Phone: 956.296.1909

somstudentsupportandwellness@utrgv.edu

Student Academic Support Services

Mercy O. Azeke, Ed.D., Director for Medical Student Academic Support Services

Edinburg Medical Education Building 3.160

Phone: 956.296.1924

mercy.azeke@utrgv.edu

SOM Registrar Services

Wandy E. Cruz-Velázquez, Associate Registrar for SOM

Edinburg Medical Education Building 1.117A

Phone: 956.296.1494 or 1626

SOMRegistrarServices@utrgv.edu

wandy.cruzvelazquez@utrgv.edu

SOM Student Financial Services

Gilbert Morin, MSHS, Associate Director

Edinburg Medical Education Building 1.132A

Phone: 956.296.1914

MDfinancialaid@utrgv.edu