The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Refund of Registration Fees

To officially withdraw from the university or drop a course, a student must go to the Office of the University Registrar. A student withdrawing officially and completely during a fall or spring semester will receive a refund of total tuition and fees (excluding nonrefundable fees) according to the following scale (Section 54.006, Texas Education Code):

  1. 100 percent before the first day of classes.
  2. 80 percent during the first five class days.
  3. 70 percent during the second five class days.
  4. 50 percent during the third five class days.
  5. 25 percent during the fourth five class days.
  6. No refund after the fourth five class day period.

Refund of total tuition and fees (excluding nonrefundable fees) during a summer term to students withdrawing officially and completely will be made according to the following scale:

  1. 100 percent before the first day of classes.
  2. 80 percent during the first class day.
  3. 50 percent during the second class day.
  4. No refund after the third class day.

NOTE: The term “class days” refers to days the university schedules classes, not the individual student’s schedule. Students officially dropping courses but remaining enrolled at the university receive a full refund of tuition and mandatory fees actually paid for the dropped classes through the 12th class day (official census day) during a fall or spring semester or the fourth class day (official census day) during a summer term, minus the other nonrefundable fees assessed for each course dropped beginning with the first day of classes. Students should review the official academic calendar for specific dates. Students will not receive refunds for classes dropped after these dates. Additionally, per the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board rules and regulations, students may not enroll in a course after the official census date (Ch. 9, Subchapter B, 9.31a).

Refund checks will be mailed within 45 days to the student’s billing address on file at the Office of the University Registrar. (within 30 days if the student did not receive some form of financial assistance through the university). Refunds for a student under the installment plan or emergency loan will be first applied to the student’s unpaid balance.

Students who do not officially withdraw through the Office of the Registrar will be responsible for tuition, fees and any circumstances arising from failure to withdraw. Studentsare unable to contest balances for tuition and fees owed to the university beyond the end of the term in question

* Texas Education Code, Section 54.504 – Incidental Fees and 55.16 Board Responsibility authorizes the governing board to fix and collect fees and charges. The averages are not given for college and course related fees (laboratory, incidental, supplemental/individual fees) since charges vary according to academic program and courses; actual fees are published in the institutional catalog and/or other publications. For more information on incidental fees please review The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley -Tuition and Fees 

**The Texas Legislature, except for basic tuition, does not set the specific amount for any particular student fee. The student fees assessed are authorized by state statute; however, the university administration and UT System Board of Regents determine specific fee amounts and make the decision to increase fees.

***House Bill 3015 authorizes the governing boards of institutions of higher education to charge any student Designated Tuition in any amount necessary for the effective operation of the institution effective Sept. 1, 2003. These amounts are approximate as additional charges for course or program related fees may be incurred.